Men’s International Cricket Teams

The International Cricket Council (ICC) was founded at Lord’s on 15 June 1909 as the Imperial Cricket Conference, with AustraliaEngland, and South Africa as its founding members. In the beginning, only countries within the Commonwealth could join. These members were then joined by IndiaNew Zealand, and the West Indies in 1926 and later by Pakistan in 1953. In 1961, South Africa resigned due to their leaving the Commonwealth, but they continued to play Test cricket until their international exile in 1970.

The Imperial Cricket Conference was renamed the International Cricket Conference in 1965, with new rules permitting countries from outside the Commonwealth to be elected into the governing body for the first time. That year, Fiji and the USA became the first Associate Member nations.

In 1981, Sri Lanka became the first Associate Member to be elected a Full Member, returning the number of Test-playing nations to seven. In 1989, the ICC was again renamed, this time to International Cricket Council. South Africa was reelected as a Full Member to the ICC in 1991 and Zimbabwe was elected in 1992. It would be eight years before the next Full Member, Bangladesh, was elected in 2000. On 22 June 2017, Ireland and Afghanistan were granted Full Member and Test status, bringing the number of Full Members to 12.

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms bellow to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist